Adopting The Right Name

Apparently being Kikuyu is equivalent to being white in America. I scoff at that, but I wait to see these benefits practised upon me.

Truth of the matter

Minnie Kasyoka

I have two names. That’s how it’s always been. Both names are mine, I took up no surname. My mum was unmarried for most of my formative years and since we no longer lived with my father, it made sense not to include his name on mine and my sister’s documents.

I have never felt unloved, unwanted or had the feeling of not belonging because I have no family name. Instead I have an overwhelming sense of independence from the unhealthy attachment to familial norms that conflict with my ideologies.

View original post 1,093 more words

Leave a Reply

